I present myself to you

by Josie Stanford

I crouch in the tall grass
I present myself to you
Repentant

A ladybird lands on my thumb
I present myself to you
Lucky

I can hear the breeze rattling through bare branches
I present myself to you
Alone

One day the trees will block the road noise at the boundary
I present myself to you
Hopeful

The rowan tree has grown; the leaves are lush, the berries ripe
I present myself to you
Strong

How the years have passed; things are different, and yet the same.
Always, I present myself to you
Loving

As a cloud shifts to reveal the first sun of the day
I crouch at your grave
I present myself to you

Leave a Reply

