Children’s Book Awards announced tonight

Only a couple of hours to go and we will know the winners of this year’s New Zealand Post Book Awards for Children and Young Adults. How exciting. To make the wait a bit more bearable, here are some snippets from what Green Bay reviewers thought of the finalists:

Little boy in Room 19 (new entrants) on The Boring Book: ‘It’s true. We live in a word world.’

Several 5- and 6- year-olds on Aunt Samantha’s panther from Tucan Can: ‘I like the bklack tiger.’

Susan about Mortal Fire: ‘After a slow start, after chapter seven I was finally sold, the story flew along. From that moment on I was very hooked in and I wanted to find out what happens next.’

Lana on ANZAC Day – The New Zealand Story: ‘This book made me think. How would it feel to go to war and knowing that you had an 80% chance not going back home?’

Lana on Wearable Wonders: ‘I believe that anyone who wants to be a fashion designer or a back stage runway organizer should definitely pick up this book.’

And finally some artist impressions by Green Bay Primary students. Enjoy!

DSCN1649

DSCN1650

DSCN1651

2014-05-23 10.36.51

2014-05-23 10.37.22

Leave a comment